What are the fundamental beliefs of Islam?

Author Name
Answered by: Muhammed, An Expert in the Fundamental Beliefs Category
Islam is the second largest religion on Earth after Christianity, comprising of over 1.3 billion followers and it is also the fastest growing religion. Islam means ‘Peace’ and ‘Submission to the will of God”.

So, what exactly are the fundamental beliefs of Islam? Let’s find out!

There are six articles of faith necessary for being called a Muslim(Follower of Islam):

Allah: Belief in the divine unity, i.e., the belief that only Allah is worthy of worship

Angels: Belief in the existence of Angels who follow God’s orders, worship and glorify Him.

Revealed books: Belief in all the revealed divine books including the Qur’an, which was revealed onto the last and final messenger Muhammad(PBUH)

Messengers: Belief in all the Messengers sent by Allah from Adam to Muhammad, including Noah, Moses, Jesus, David and Solomon(Peace be upon them all). The number of Messengers is said to be around 124,000.

Day of Judgement: Belief that the Day of Judgement is a reality. On that day, every human from Adam to the last person on Earth will have to face Allah, who will judge him by his deeds.

Divine preordainment: The belief that whatever good and bad happens to us is from Allah.

Life after death: Belief that we will be resurrected after death and that there is another life yet to come after this life.

The main sources of these beliefs are the Qur’an: the Holy Book, Hadith: Sayings of the Prophet Muhammad(Peace be upon Him) and Sunnah: The practices of the Prophet Muhammad(PBUH).

The Qur’an consists of the revelations which Allah, the Almighty, revealed onto Muhammad through the angel Gabriel(Jibraeel) spanning over a period of 23 years. Not even a letter of the Qur’an has changed since then.

The Qur’an comprises of the beliefs, ethics and laws of Islam. The Prophet has explained the Qur’an and gave detailed instructions about the right way of living an ideal Islamic life: from eating to sleeping and from praying to slaughtering animals.

These fundamental beliefs serve the purpose of connecting all the believers and to lay the foundation for a universal brotherhood of people following God’s law.

Faith is called ‘Imaan’ in Islam.

Pillars of Islam:

There are five pillars of Islam: ‘pillars’ on which the life of a Muslim is built.

Faith: Faith in the oneness of God(Allah). It is referred to as ‘Tawheed’ in the Qur’an, the Holy Book of Islam. The statement of faith is “La Ilaha Illallah; Muhammadur Rasoolullah”. It is translated as “There is no one worthy to be worshipped, but Allah; and Muhammad(Peace be upon Him) is Allah’s Messenger”. Worshipping others besides Allah is the greatest sin in Islam.

Prayer: Prayer, five times a day, has been made obligatory on every Muslim, man and woman.

Alms: Alms/Charity consisting of 2.5% of specific part of one’s income.

Pilgrimage: Pilgrimage to the Holy city of Makkah in Saudi Arabia. This is known as ‘Hajj’ and is to be done atleast once during a lifetime.

Fasting: Fasting for one month in the lunar month of Ramazan(Ramadan).

These are just some of the most fundamental beliefs of Islam. This concludes the article.

Author Name Like My Writing? Hire Me to Write For You!

Related Questions